top of page
Writer's pictureLori Gombart

Kids don't come with manuals

Parenting is the most challenging job you will ever love. Some parents make it look so easy, but the truth is that there are so many parts of life that are beyond your control and you really only have control over how you act in response to life. Your child is unique and you are unique and the combination of your family dynamics- past experiences, current level of support and goals are all influencing your goals as a parent. And, your child didn't come with an instruction manual. I raised four children myself with partnership of my husband, yet each child had needs that were different form the other three.


I took several parenting classes and that helped, but sometimes neither my child nor I was in that class or parenting book. Often I had to go within for an innovative approach that may or may not have worked because some things you just cannot buy to help you parent. It is not until now that I can look back and realize I should have invested more in myself- yet it is all perfect, anyway.

There are many tools that can make parenting easier; just like having the right tools in the kitchen make it easier to prepare your child a meal. I would much rather use a sharp knife to slice some watermelon than throwing it on the floor to see how many pieces it will make. Okay, that is an exaggeration, but you get the point. There are easier or more difficult ways to accomplish your goals and dreams. Why not invest in yourself, the way you would invest in a nice knife for preparing meals.

Join my Facebook group Parent to Parent Cafe (facebook.com/groups/parent2parentcafe). Here you will find support and offer and give support so we are not doing this alone. Become the useful and sharp tool in your life to slice away the stress and challenges of parenthood.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page